Currently Reading

Currently Reading

Though I’m no doubt late to the party on a few of these, I thought I’d share what I’m currently reading. A break from my usual initiative photography posts.

I just TORE through The Help. It was a quick, very enjoyable and endearing read. I tend to try to steer clear of those books-that-become-movies, and that everyone takes to immediately. But I found this copy for a dollar (it was basically placed into my hands by a friend, no questions asked) and I am so glad I read it. It breathed new life into my enjoyment of fiction (though I know the subject matter is very far from fake) and offered a fresh voice to an important aspect of our country’s recent history.

I picked up Personal Narrative after seeing it on a bookshelf. It’s the candid memoir of Katharine Graham, who inherited ownership and responsibility of The Washington Post for more than two decades. Only a few pages in, it seems a bit heavy on her own family history, but I’m hopeful it develops so that it sheds illuminating light on what it was like to lead such a prominent publication during the tumultuous years of the 1960s.

A friend recently sent me an article published in The Atlantic. I’ve already raved about it to countless friends. The book The Confidence Code is what the article was derived from, and dissects the surprisingly significant role confidence plays in success, and how these self-assured qualities differ in men and women. It’s a topic that I’ve been paying increasing attention to lately, and I am very excited to finish the book and discuss its findings with friends.

Lastly, I’ve been wanting to read The Fault In Our Stars for a while now, but only just managed to pick up a copy. It’s an entertaining read so far. I’m only a bit in, but the narrative style reminds me a bit of J.D. Salinger’s Holden Caulfield, making it immediately accessible. I had read somewhere that it was a young adult fiction book, and was surprised to learn that it won Time Magazine’s Best Novel of 2012. So far, it has not disappointed.

Leave a Reply

